AMSCA logo

AMSCA logo

2015 RAMSCA Distingued Service Awards

In 2015, AMSCA Distinguished Service Award was presented to COL Nancy Henderson and COL Wolfe Rinke. The 2015 AMSCA Emma E. Vogel Award was awarded to COL Elena Guinn and COL Virginia Metcalf.

2015 AMSCA Distinguished Service Award

COL Nancy Henderson 

Nancy Henderson may have retired from active duty in 2004 but she certainly did not retire from service to her community of Steilacoom, WA. Her involvement with so many community projects led to her

  • Election to the City Council
  • Appointment as Commissioner for the Pierce County Transit Authority (is developing a mass transit corridor between Seattle and Olympia, Washington)
  • Election as President of the Steilacoom Kiwanis Club
  • Chair, Steilacoom Parks and Trails Advisory Force. Here, she also raised funds to honor and memorialize Retired AMSC Joan Beebe, PT, with a named bench in the community park Joan walked and ran daily.

Nancy Hendrson is also Chair of the South Puget Sound Chapter of the American Field Service (AFS) Intercultural Program, which actively promotes, hosts and coordinates International Exchange Students. As an accomplished musician, she frequently plays at community events, including the Steilacoom Annual Christmas Sing and Play Along. In her "spare time", she volunteers as an Assistant Ranger at Mount Rainier National Park.

COL Nancy Henderson is most deserving of the RAMSCA Distinguished Service Award for her demonstrated outstanding Community Service.


COL Wolfe Rinke

As a prolific Writer, Speaker, program developer and educator, Wolfe Rinke has continued to bring significant credit to the AMSC and RAMSCA. He is a widely published author of Audio/video programs, popular books and is a Certified Speaking Professional (CSP credentials are earned by fewer than 10% worldwide). He has been featured on over 300 TV and radio shows, including CNN. He has been ranked by Executive Excellence magazine among “the top 100 minds” in the field of personal and leadership development, along with Steve Covey, Oprah Winfrey and others.

He is a former Adjunct Associate Professor of Management at John Hopkins University and the University of Maryland. He has been honored by the American Dietetic Association with the Award of Excellence in the practice of management and has delivered the Lenna Frances Cooper Lecture. He has also been past president of the District of Columbia Dietetic Association. Since 1990, he has delivered exceptional high levels of customer service to nutrition professionals with accredited home study CPE courses, coaching/team building seminars and executive management seminars.

COL Wolf Rinke is most deserving of the RAMSCA Distinguished Service Award for his demonstrated outstanding Literary and Educational Contributions.

2015 Emma E. Vogel Award

COL Elena Guinn

Elena Guinn, who has consistently shown qualities of  sustained Leadership and Personal Commitment which have had a positive impact on the development and growth of RAMSCA. She revised the much needed update of the RAMSCA Procedural Guide, used by all RAMSCA Officers, Committee Chairs and Members. She coordinated all revisions and updates with these Officers and Committee Chairs. She then organized the information, proofed it, had it bound, printed, placed on DVD’s and Flash sticks and distributed to all Officers and Committee Chairs. This was a monumental task.

As she has with all other RAMSCA commitments, including Board Officer, 2011 Biennial Meeting Planning Committee, and member of many “working committees”, she performs all with a generous gift of time, management and personal skills. 

COL Elena Guinn is most deserving of the COL Emma E. Vogel Award.


COL Virginia Metcalf

Virginia Metcalf has served RAMSCA since its inception, having been one of its charter members. Since 1984, she has been on the Planning Committees of 4 of the 16 RAMSCA Biennial Meetings. Her contributions led to the success of these and subsequent Biennial Meetings. While a member of the RAMSCA Awards Committee from 1989 to 2013, she wrote the Resolution for RAMSCA to support the Vogel Chair for the Women in Military Service to America Museum. She has been an active member and or Chair of RAMSCA Nominating and Election Committee and the RAMSCA Ad Hoc History Committee covering the period from 1994 to 2007.

She has been a consistent supportive advocate of RAMSCA in many leadership and working member roles.  Her input and sustained activities since the beginnings of RAMSCA have influenced the development, growth and future of this organization through the decades.

COL Virginia Metcalf is most deserving of the COL Emma E. Vogel Award.

Member Login/Logout

Join AMSCA Now!

Any current or past AMSC officer (with an honorable discharge) may join AMSCA.

Join Now

using PayPal, credit card, or check.

Pay with PayPal or credit card

Otherwise, join by mail,using this membership application form.

Questions? Contact our Membership Chair by email.